Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
6

runner

here i go again with some shit
6

I’ve cut together Blade Runner and Blade Runner 2049 for two purposes. One: for fun, matching kindred images between the two films via objects, lighting, framing, etc. And two: to share an instrumental song I’m calling ‘Split Spiral’, although for a few years it’s been known as ‘hot pocket theme for a film’ in my iTunes.

Video’s not very popular on this here platform, but I encourage you to play it. I know it bounces you outta email to the website. That’s just life.

I make all kinds of music just to see if I can do it, but I rarely share these straightforward orchestral/piano things. I think the maximalist in me deems ‘em not enough. There aren’t eight trillion things happening to mask My Infinite Holes©, so it all feels inconsequential, boring, cliched. And music without vocals feels unfinished to me and I can’t see what the point of them are.

So when music is paired with visuals, it’s like when Billy and Jimmy combine their Double Dragon medallion. Both movie and song become stronger, making more sense, when on their own they were merely ok. It tells a more complete story. At least for me, these songs-without-me-singing suddenly have a point to them, a purpose. Man, music + film really is the perfect marriage. I bet their sex life is super solid, too. Freakiest shit you can imagine and even when they argue, they never go to bed angry. They just sex shit away.

double dragon medallion
Me and the homie straight buck wildin’

This song isn’t inventive or original. It’s not a Vangelis ripoff, though. But it’d fit right in with the myriad (tired) intros to your favorite streaming shows. Anyway, I thought what the hell, let’s put it over some Blade Runner shots and see if it works. It definitely makes me like the song more. I didn’t care much for it without context.

Now I pose a question to you. Is this something I should ‘release’? And if I do should it be under a different moniker? Does it matter? It’s not exactly ‘in line’ with the ‘re/search/er’ vibe, but I’ve never been consistent with it, anyway. Maybe a fresh new identity for all forthcoming new music? I’d love to get your feedback.

Hyperalone is a tour through the highs and lows of the creative process.

Share

tell yer friends to say hi [IRL / substack / instagram / tumblr / letterboxd]
stream the music [spotify / apple]
buy the .wavs & tapes [bandcamp]
6 Comments
HYPERALONE
HYPERALONE